Complete List of Electronic Resources (A-Z)
Below are digital resources that our library subscribes to. These collections and databases contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.
Items marked **Available During COVID-19** indicate collections made specially available by publishers during libraries’ COVID-19 closures. We encourage patrons to try out these collections while they are available!
AtoZ World Food – **Available During COVID-19** Learn more about food in history and culture while discovering over 6,500 traditional recipes from over 174 countries.
AtoZ World Travel – **Available During COVID-19** Offers free and exclusive tourist and cultural information on more than 200 of the top travel destinations in North America and around the globe.
AtoZ World Business – **Available During COVID-19** AtoZ World Business provides patrons with the foundational knowledge to conduct business successfully in 100 different countries.
AtoZ Maps Online – **Available During COVID-19** This is one of the world’s largest online collections of maps (over 100,000) including “modern maps,” “antique maps,” “Holy Land maps,” USGS topographic maps of the U.S. states, and many more.
ArtistWorks provides patrons with world-class instruction through self-paced video lessons from Grammy Award-winning music and artistic professionals.
Auto Repair Source, (formerly AutoMate), features content from the original equipment manufacturers including step-by-step repair procedures with supporting images, maintenance schedules, estimated labor times, technical service bulletins, specifications and diagnostic trouble codes so users can accurately diagnose, repair and maintain their vehicle. Millions of high-quality images can be magnified and printed. Images include component location diagrams and comprehensive wiring diagrams. Auto Repair Source is also optimized for touch screen devices. Tutorial
British Columbia Codes – Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
British Columbia Statistics – Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour, and society. From BC Stats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.
BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
Canadian Encyclopedia – A comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
Clicklaw – An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
- NEW – Clicklaw COVID-19 Resources for British Columbians includes chapters on housing, employment, taxes, and more.
Gale Business Plans Handbooks – Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans.
Global Road Warrior – **Available During COVID-19** Global Road Warrior contains detailed cultural, travel, communications, business travel, security, money and banking, transportation, and technical travel information for 175 countries worldwide. Also included are extensive collections of maps, flags, illustrations and photos.
Learn about the foods, cultures, security issues before you travel. Detailed maps and import / export procedures are also provided.
IndieFlix – Watch award-winning shorts, features, and documentaries from more than 85 countries. Over 7000 streaming movies available on all Internet-enabled computers, tablets (including iPad and Android), smartphones through your web browser, and on Roku and Xbox.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
KnowBC Online – **Available During COVID-19** While this is typically available only in-library from our public computers, Harbour Publishing has made KnowBC available for free to all, from any device, during COVID-19—no need for a library card. Includes the following resources:
- Encyclopedia of British Columbia – With more than 4,000 entries and 1,500 accompanying photographs, maps, charts and tables, as well as sound and video clips.
- Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest – A Photographic Encyclopedia of Invertebrates, Seaweeds and Selected Fishes.
- The Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names – A Complete Reference to Coastal British Columbia
- Far West – The Story of British Columbia
- Raincoast Chronicles 20 – Lilies and Fireweed: Frontier Women of British Columbia.
- Where Mountains Meet the Sea – A History of Coastal BC
Library To Go – Download and listen to best selling and classic e-Books and e-AudioBooks 24/7 on your computer, smartphone, tablet, or e-reader. It’s free, all you need is your library card. (For smartphones and tablets, access this resource using the Libby app or OverDrive app.)
Lingo LITE – **Available During COVID-19** LingoLITE is a vocabulary builder and contains thousands of native speaker video clips in 30 languages including Spanish, French, Italian, German, Chinese, Japanese, Chinese, Farsi, Hindi, German, Swahili, Thai, and 18 others. This resource helps users learn basic words and phrases in 30 languages using interactive native speaker videos.
Lynda.com – This popular, professional, expert-led video learning database has a wide selection of online video courses to help you gain skills for your career and life. Topics include software, creative paths, business skills, personal development, and more.
RBdigital – A collection of more than 10,000 downloadable eAudiobooks from Recorded Books, including 100 Canadian titles from Maple Leaf Audio. You’ll also find eMagazines (see below) and classic eBooks. Download titles to your home computer, or to a mobile device using the RBdigital app. Many titles are instant access; use the search filters to find what’s “available now.”
RBdigital Magazines – RBdigital Magazines, the world’s largest newsstand, offers full-colour digital magazines for anytime, anywhere reading on desktops, mobile devices, and apps. This collection of almost 4000 popular digital magazines includes both new and backlist titles with no holds, no checkout periods, and no limits—instant access!
Points to the Past – The searchable primary source material – maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more – for research, teaching and learning. Supported by University of Victoria Libraries, University of British Columbia Library, and Simon Fraser University Library, in collaboration with Gale, part of Cengage Learning. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
Tumblebooks – This entertaining site for children presents full colour pages of eBooks for kids (K-6) and parents to read aloud and to read along with. It’s all controlled by you or your kids from a simple interface. Enjoy Tumblebooks for free. All Tumblebooks eBooks are instant-access—no wait times or holds!
**Available During COVID-19**
During our COVID-19 closure, TumbleBooks has given our patrons access to the rest of their database collection:
- TumbleMath – Children K-6 Math eBooks
- TeenBookCloud – Teens grades 7-12 eBooks
- AudioBookCloud – an audiobook database for teens/adults
- RomanceBookCloud – A collection of 1800 romance eBooks
Vehicle Safety and Inspection Standards Online (In-Library Use Only) Current vehicle safety and inspection standards and related BC legislation.