Databases


Databases for In-Library Use Only

Last Updated April 29, 2020

KnowBC Online **While this is typically available only in-library from our public computers, Harbour Publishing has made KnowBC available for free to all, from any device, during COVID-19—no need for a library card. Includes the following resources: Encyclopedia of British Columbia – With more than 4,000 entries and 1,500 accompanying photographs, maps, charts and tables,


Complete List of Electronic Resources (A-Z)

Last Updated February 17, 2021

Below are digital resources that our library subscribes to. These collections and databases contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases. Items marked **Available During COVID-19** indicate collections made specially available by publishers during libraries’ COVID-19 limited hours. We encourage patrons


Statistics

Last Updated April 28, 2015

British Columbia Statistics – the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia. They offer data services, business and economic statistics, labour and social statistics, population stats, and survey and analysis. The World Bank – The Data Catalogue provides download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources. DataBC – Provided by


Law & Government

Last Updated May 13, 2020

Library Databases Our databases have lots of information from trusted sources that’s typically not available through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log in. Vehicle Safety and Inspection Standards Online (In Library Use Only) – Current vehicle safety and inspection standards and related BC legislation. Websites Legal Government Legal Resources at Our Library


Home & Consumer Information

Last Updated June 16, 2015

Websites ConsumerSearch Features product reviews from a variety of quality sources. EnerGuide The Canadian government’s guide to energy-efficient appliances, heating and cooling, and more. FurnaceCompare.com Ratings and reviews on thousands of air conditioners, boilers, furnaces and heat pumps.    


Health, Medical & Wellness

Last Updated February 12, 2021

Library Databases Websites Health Resources at Our Library Medicine, popular Alternative medicine Health Medical Equipment to Borrow (Med Shed)    


Genealogy

Last Updated June 16, 2015

BC Genealogical Society – The main genealogy society for the Vancouver area. They have regular meetings in Burnaby … Website has links to their catalogue and other sites for genealogy. Canadian Genealogy Centre – A gateway to Canada’s genealogical resources provided by Library and Archives Canada. It offers genealogical content, advice, services and research tools.  


Citizenship & Multilingual Resources

Last Updated February 6, 2021

NewToBC – Find out services, programs and resources available to newcomers at www.newtobc.ca, a website offered by BC Libraries to help you succeed in your new community. ELSANet – English Language Services for Adults (ELSA) lists English language programs in BC and provides links of interest to ESL students and instructors. KnowBC Online (In-Library use


Business & Careers

Last Updated September 18, 2018

Library Databases Our databases have lots of information from trusted sources that’s typically not available through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log in.   Small Business Accelerator – This is curated by professional business librarians and is a reliable gateway to freely available business information, education, and assistance that is both current


Book Recommendations

Last Updated September 16, 2020

See our Recommended Reading page, as well as these websites: GoodReads – Includes reader reviews, trivia, reading lists, etc.  You can choose to sign up and share book lists. BookBrowse.com – Includes reviews, previews, stories behind the books, author interviews, reading guides, and more. Fantastic Fiction – Search and browse bibliographies of over 50,000 bestselling fiction